One year Blogiversary

It was one year ago today that I made my first blog post. Though I didn’t start blogging that much until around Father’s Day last year when I began writing blog posts on a regular basis. I think about where I was at when I wrote that post and how much I hurt and how ignorant I was. I think about how hard it was for me to cope and how dark things were. It was a scary place, a place that I don’t wish anyone should have to go through.

One year later I wouldn’t say I’ve done a 180 but I’m in a much better place than I was one year ago both personally and in my marriage. Though our situation regarding having children has not changed, I’ve learned to cope with things better. It’s interesting right now I’m at a work conference where I’m meeting new people getting the do you have kids questions and whereas last year I would have said no and had it trigger me, I’m now saying “We aren’t able to have kids”. Those questions aren’t as triggering but they still leave me left out of conversations making it hard to engage in those discussions. The point is my perspective has changed but to a certain extent I recognize that I’ll always hurt no matter how K and I proceed.

I’m not sure where we are heading. Because of everything we have going on in our lives it’s not the right time to make that decision. Though with my 34 birthday less than 3 months away (entering my mid 30’s), I know that we’ll have to make a decision about whether to adopt in the next 2-3 years before we get too old. I can’t see us raising an infant in our early 40’s.

In the meantime, I have my Big Brother training in less than three weeks which will open a new door to hopefully help someone else. I don’t know whether I will be accepted into the program but won’t know unless I try. I’m exciting and nervous as to the opportunity it will bring.

I would like to thank you all for reading and providing me with great feedback over the last year. I hope that you enjoy and continue to provide great feedback and that I’m able to provide you with interesting content to read. I also hope that I’ve been able to provide you some perspective of what a man going through infertility is feeling and going through.

Best wishes to all of you on your journeys.

20140313-080840.jpg

9 thoughts on “One year Blogiversary

  1. kiftsgate

    Happy blogiversary!! I’m glad to hear that you are in a better place now than when you started the blog. It’s the same for me. I wish you all the best with all the projects and will be happy to continue readying. xx

    Reply
  2. Kitten

    Happy Blogiversary! Of course you will be accepted as a Big Brother! And you’re going to be great. It was very eye-opening and perspective-challenging for me. Not that it’s all about what YOU get out of it, but you WILL get lots out of it.

    Reply
  3. beautifulfamily28

    Hi, I am so happy to have found your blog. My husband and I learned that my husband has non obstructive azoospermia in the fall of 2012 and in early 2013 we moved forward with a donor and now have a beautiful baby boy. I am so happy to have your blog to read. It’s hard to find couples in similar situations to ours, but it’s nice to know there are others out there. Best of luck to you as your journey continues. I look forward to following!

    Reply
    1. gsmwc02 Post author

      Thank you so much for the feedback. Congrats on your new arrival. If your husband is looking for a great resource to connect with other DI Dads, I highly recommend joining this yahoo group https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/di_dads/info . It’s a great site with lots of open supportive men run by a great guy that I admire. Best wishes to you and your husband on your journey.

      -Greg

      Reply
  4. le4nnes

    so glad i read this first before starting to ask loads of questions on twitter as my next question was going to be have you considered adoption. i am really looking forward to reading your previous posts and the future posts to come πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Lori Lavender Luz

    Happy belated blogoversary, Greg! I’m so glad that you have found therapy and something of a tribe to help you get through something so difficult. I have often admired how open you are to new perspectives, and that will serve you well no matter what path you choose to take.

    (I can’t remember: have I ever recommended to you my friend Melissa’s book? She writes at Stirrup-Queens and her book on navigating the four different ways off the infertility island is here: http://ow.ly/veUGU. I think you would really like it.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

