Distractions

It’s been a strange month or so for me. First for the first time in the last 18 months I’ve started to have doubts about whether I’d want to pursue adoption. I guess it’s the fear of messing up someone else’s life that’s got me thinking. Would I just be better off playing it safe and just live a simple life? I don’t know but I do know I’m in no hurry to make a decision and neither is K.

I haven’t thought about it nearly as much as I normally would be because I’ve been distracted. Mainly what’s been distracting me is the NY Rangers Stanley Cup run. I know most of you aren’t hockey and sports fans for that matter but for me sports are a great distraction from life. This run the Rangers are on is one of the most exciting runs one of the teams I root for has had. This was a team that a few weeks ago was dead down 3 games to 1 the Penguins in a best of seven series. Then one of their key players tragically lost his mom at the age of 63. The team rallied around him and battled back to win the series. He even managed to score a goal on Mothers Day two days after his mom died and scored and Overtime winner in the next series.

The Rangers are now in the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in 20 years. I was in 8th grade the last time the Rangers were in the Finals and won a Stanley Cup. I don’t know whether they’ll win but it’s been unbelievable. It’s things like this that are keeping me going and distracted from things that are just going to make me lose my mind and lash out at K. There is time to think about that later when I’m less distracted and ready to discuss it with K. For now I’m going to enjoy my distraction.

20140602-204241-74561582.jpg

6 thoughts on “Distractions

  1. Geochick

    Distractions are awesome. I think that’s why S wanted to tackle a century ride this year. Definitely why I’m annoyed at a lot of work travel yet kind of ok with the disruption.

    Reply
    1. gsmwc02 Post author

      Work travel can be tough. I travel in bunches for work and then have 3 month gaps when I don’t. I was in Chicago for a day last week which was my first trip since March when I was in Houston. I’ll be back in Chicago in two weeks but won’t be traveling again until September.

      Reply
  2. Davy S

    Distractions are important. We are in a strange season between infertility and starting the adoption process. The home-buying distraction is very welcome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

