The Appointment 

First I would like to thank everyone for their support.  I say everyone because there are too many people to thank individually.  I am truly humbled by everyone’s support.  Its been overwhelming especially when lately I haven’t had a high opinion of myself.

Last night and this morning I was a mess.  I broke down going to sleep and woke up this morning the same way.  I wish it was because the Rangers got shutout last night to that mediocre Capitals team but it wasn’t.  I was scared for how my life was about to change.  I was down on myself that this is what it had come to because of my body.

After I collected myself this morning, I was ok heading to the appointment.  The most stressful part was getting across mid town Manhattan to the FDR and dealing with lunch time traffic.  We only got to the appointment five minutes before so it was a little bit frantic.  But I didn’t have a long wait and getting in an out only took an hour.

Now to the diagnosis, I didn’t get the same there is nothing that can be done answer.  Instead the diagnosis is that there needs to be further confirmation as to the extent of the Y Chromosome Microdeletions.  If there are partial deletions of the AZFb then a decision would have to be made as to whether to pursue Microsurgical Testicular Sperm Extraction.  If there are full deletions of the AZFb then there is nothing that can be done.  As the previous urologist confirmed there’s nothing I need to be concerned about with my long term health other than monitoring my testosterone levels.

To further confirm to the extent of the deletions I had blood drawn to specifically test the extent of the Y a Chromosome Microdeletions.  The cool part of it is that whatever parts of my blood that are not used will be saved for further research being conducted by my doctor on male infertility.  I had to sign a waiver to do that which I was happy to do.  Anything that would benefit men dealing with infertility I am all for.  This is me passing down my genes for the benefit of future generations in a way.

Now comes the hard part waiting the next 2-3 weeks for the results of the blood work.  It’s going to be difficult but it doesn’t feel as difficult as waiting for the appointment.  Good thing for me is that I’m running a half marathon on the 17th and that’s where my focus is outside of work.  There’s nothing more that I can do.  I’ve taken the first step and know that I’m doing something for the first time in two years.  But I’m still scared as to the fallout if the test results show the worst case scenario.  I really hope that isn’t the case because I don’t know what would be next.

19 thoughts on “The Appointment 

  1. Mrs T

    “This is me passing down my genes for the benefit of future generations in a way.” That line gave me chills. I hope for answers and a clear path forward soon!

    Reply
  2. Lauren

    I love that you are passing on your genes on some way, regardless of the outcome.

    Sorry you don’t have any definitive answers yet. But, pardon the pun,
    sounds like you could still be in the running!

    Reply
  3. julieann081

    I’m so glad to hear that you will be getting some answers. I’m sorry you have to wait for them. I hope the time goes by quickly, you enjoy your marathon, and that you get some good news! 🙂

    Reply
  4. A.

    Good luck with the race and, most of all, with the test results! We are also waiting the interminable 2-3 weeks for genetic carrier testing after something came up in the amnio from our little lost boy. It’s just a little terrifying, so I hope you are able to stay distracted over the next couple of weeks.

    Reply
  5. Justine Froelker

    So glad there may be a chance for further answers! So proud of your courage to seek this out. And in it you found a bit of your legacy… At least I think so. Much love your way friend!

    Reply
    1. gsmwc02 Post author

      Thanks. Still waiting for the results. Tuesday would be three weeks so if I don’t hear back by then I’ll be calling to follow up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

