When Internet Friends Become Real People

For years I’ve posted on sports message boards and connected with people just knowing them by their screen names. One time at a fantasy baseball draft I actually met one person but it was just a coincidence. Never did I ever do a planned get together. But always wondered what these people were like in person.

Over the last year since my diagnosis I’ve connected with many great people in the infertility community. We’ve shared our stories and heartbreak. Two weeks ago I had the opportunity to meet two people I’ve connected with at an infertility event.

At first I hesitated to go when I found out that I was going to be the only guy there. I didn’t want to be the weird creepy guy in a room full of married women. When I found out another guy was coming I changed my mind and went. I ran into some train issues getting to the event which made me 45 minutes late and a little agitated.

When I walked in I was greeted warmly by Jay who I had only known as @the2weekwait from twitter who does amazing work for the Fertility Authority. I am socially awkward and shy at first but Jay being the outgoing warm person that she is made me feel welcome instantly. She introduced me to another woman, Casey I knew on twitter as @ChancesOur. I was amazed at how knowledgable and compassionate these two women were as I opened up as to my infertility journey (pic below was taken of the three of us at the event).

In addition to these two incredible women, I also met many women and one other man there who are going through infertility. It was inspiring to know that these were people who I could identify with. None of them deserved to deal with infertility, all of their stories were heartbreaking. They all were great people who I know would be great parents. I hope that one day they all will be.

If you are reading this, thank you Jay for inviting me and putting together an amazing event. I can’t tell you how inspired I felt leaving the event (I know others at the event felt the same). It really lifted my spirits. Casey, thank you so much for listening, sharing your experience and being the caring compassionate person that you are. I am forever grateful to have met the both of you and hope we can meet again in the near future.

Life Update

It’s been a while since I last blogged so I thought I should give you an update on what I’ve been up to. I’ve managed to drop even more weight down from 165 at Christmas to 138. Cutting down on snacks and working out like a mad man has been the trick with the assistance of fitbit and myfitnesspal.

I was accepted and matched into the big brother program. I met my little Wednesday night. He’s spunky 14 year old that was shy at first but then opened up. We have our first activity next Saturday. I’m excited and looking forward to the opportunity.

20140509-210937.jpg

8 thoughts on “When Internet Friends Become Real People

  1. Awaiting Autumn

    So glad you were able to find an in-person network. I have met a few local infertiles in person too! We are planning on having a summer bbq where the partners are all invited to attend. Maybe you should suggest something like that for your group?

    Reply
  2. kiftsgate

    Great post, which really describes how important and good this meet up was! I have been lucky and also met a few lovely fellow bloggers. There are a few more I am hoping to meet soon. Maybe I’ll drop you a line next time I cross the pond 😉

    Reply
  3. Cyn

    Online friends really can have some of the best connections. This month I have a visitor from Russia who I’ve been internet pals with since I was 17. I’ve visited there and this is his 2nd visit here. Yesterday I showed him a picture of a young woman who was an infant in my care as a nanny when we first started writing. She was born the day after his first email reply to me, in fact. It was then that it dawned on him just how long our friendship has gone, “But she’s an adult! She’s all grown up!” (She’s 20.) We’ve been good friends our entire adult lives but only met face to face just 4 years ago for the first time. We are such big pieces of one another’s lives that the distance has been almost irrelevant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

